! : Its an exclamation point! It’s a line with a dot under it!

The worst thing that I can do right now is stay up late pretending to work when infact I am blogging!
I’d rather go to sleep!

Anyways, I am risking laptop burns!
Better stop now!
Have to cook for 8 people tomorrow!

Isn’t it funny that I end all (or many) sentences with an exclamation mark?
(except for this one, for obvious reasons)

Something inspired by the indiscriminate use of exclamation marks that I have been putting at the end of my sentences. And well, its been ages since I quoted Seinfeld!

In a Seinfeld episode called The Sniffing Accountant, Elaine checks the phone messages that her new boyfriend, Jake, has written down for her.

Jake: What is it?

Elaine: Well, I was just curious why you didn’t use an exclamation mark?

Jake: What are you talking about?

Elaine: See, right here you wrote “Myra had the baby”, but you didn’t use an exclamation mark.
Jake: So?

Elaine: Well, I mean if one of your close friends had a baby and I left you a message about it, I would use an exclamation mark.

Jake: Well, maybe I don’t use my exclamation marks as haphazardly as you do.

Elaine: You don’t think that someone having a baby warrants an exclamation mark?

Jake: Hey, I just chalked down the message. I didn’t know I was required to capture the mood of each caller.

Elaine: I just thought you would be a little more excited about a friend of mine having a baby.

Jake: Ok, I’m excited. I just don’t happen to like exclamation marks.

Elaine: Well, you know Jake, you should learn to use them. Like the way I’m talking right now, I would put an exclamation mark at the end of all these sentences! On this one! And on that one!

Jake: Well, you can put one on this one: I’m leaving!

Leave a Reply

