The Wind, Spray of White Mist and Siblings

As I sit in my dimly lit cubicle on the 4th floor, I hear the wind beating at the window. It makes a very eerie noise as it blows through the trees outside. I hear it making thumps on windows below. Though the windows are closed, the venetian blinds quiver unsteadily.

The wind was my companion yesterday too. It blew at me making me smile and loosen my hair from the tightly bound ponytail. Pushing my coffee cup hither thither and making my dupatta fly.

It made life miserable for the little monkey who was trying to make its first leap…his mother was looking patiently at her child take its first baby steps. But in the end the child managed to grasp onto the end of a branch and swung onto the tree.

The wind swooped up drops of water from the voluminous cascade of water and sprayed the white mist onto my face. I took off my shoes and put my feet into the rippling water.

Beside me, sat my sister and my husband. Two most important people in my life. S was trying hard to get his feet into the water, but only could when K vacated her place. Far ahead, I could see a rocky outcrop on which a man was sitting. He was right in the middle of two streams of the waterfall…braving it.

The lush green rainforest like surroundings and the round boats called tokris was an ideal mise en scène for an Indiana Jones thriller…

Siblings, what joy they are!
It has been rightly said that, having a sister is like having a best friend you can’t get rid of. You know whatever you do, they’ll still be there. And if you don’t understand how a woman could both love her sister dearly and want to wring her neck at the same time, then you were probably an only child. Heh! So true!

Leave a Reply

